'Star Wars' Has Not Won an Oscar Since 1981

'The Last Jedi' aims to capture that old Star Wars feeling
This image released by Lucasfilm shows Mark Hamill as Luke Skywalker in "Star Wars: The Last Jedi," in theaters on Dec. 15. (John Wilson/Lucasfilm via AP) -- The Associated Press

Mark Hamill, Kelly Marie Tran, Oscar Isaac and BB-8 took the stage at the 2018 Oscars to present the awards for animated short and animated feature.

But their film, "Star Wars: The Last Jedi," ended the night winless, extending the franchise's Oscars drought.

It's been 40 years since George Lucas and his galactic fairy tale made their debut at the Academy Awards and "Star Wars" has made itself at home in the years since.

But while the franchise has racked up a respectable 33 nominations, spread over nine films (including 2016's "Rogue One: A Star Wars Story"), the series hasn't brought an Oscar home since 1981.

The galaxy far, far away had by far its most successful ceremony at the 1978 ceremony, where "Star Wars: A New Hope" won six categories, including film editing, score and visual effects.

(Fun fact: George Lucas has never won an Oscar for the "Star Wars" franchise. His ex-wife, Marcia Lucas, has won an Oscar for the films, thanks for her part in editing the original film.)

"A New Hope" garnered the most nominations among "Star Wars" films at the Oscars, with 10 nominations. At the 1981 awards, heat for the series was already fading, with "The Empire Strikes Back" earning three nominations but only one win.

"Empire's" win for best sound is the last Oscar the franchise has earned, special achievement awards notwithstanding.

But Oscar nominations continue to roll in for the "Star Wars" universe. Here's a look at how nominations break down by picture.

"Star Wars: A New Hope" - 6 wins, 10 nominations

"Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back" - 1 win, 3 nominations

"Star Wars: Return of the Jedi" - 4 nominations

"Star Wars: The Phantom Menace" - 3 nominations

"Star Wars: Attack of the Clones" - 1 nomination

"Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith" _ 1 nominatio-

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" - 5 nominations

"Rogue One: A Star Wars Story" - 2 nominations

"Star Wars: The Last Jedi" - 4 nominations

We'll see how the next "Star Wars" film fares next year.


(c)2018 Los Angeles Times

Visit the Los Angeles Times at www.latimes.com

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.




This article is written by By Libby Hill from The Los Angeles Times and was legally licensed via the Tribune Content Agency through the NewsCred publisher network. Please direct all licensing questions to legal@newscred.com.

Show Full Article

Related Topics

Movies Entertainment