Selected Reserve Education Benefits

By Maj. Ron Lee, DANTES Reserve Components Advisor

Few people can name all seven components of the Selected Reserve; much less describe the multitude  of educational benefits that are available to their members. Memorizing each  component is really quite simple. Each of the five active-duty services has a  Reserve Component. They are described as the Army Reserve (USAR), Navy Reserve  (USNR), Air Force Reserve Command (AFRC), Marine Corps Reserve (USMCR) and  Coast Guard Reserve (USCGR) -- add the Army National Guard (ARNG) and the Air National Guard (ANG) for a total of seven. While the Inactive Ready Reserve (IRR) is also considered a Reserve Component, it is not a member of the Selected Reserve.

Each Selected Reserve has a website where servicemembers can go to seek out information on their education benefits. Your local Education Services Office should also be able to provide you with this information.

Another important source for servicemembers is the Department of Veteran's Affairs website at There, you can find information about education benefits  among other services relevant to veterans.

Some states also provide education benefits to veterans who are either currently serving or have served in the past. A valuable website to search for benefits by state is

Show Full Article

Related Topics

Education GI Bill