Utah State Veteran's Benefits
- Housing Benefits
- Employment Benefits
- Education Benefits
- Recreation Benefits
- Other State Veteran Benefits
There are four state-operated Veterans Homes located in the state of Utah. They are located in the communities of Salt Lake City, Ogden, Payson, and Ivins. While wartime service is not a requirement for admission to the nursing homes, wartime veterans with one day or more of wartime service, as recognized by state and federal laws, have top priority. A veteran’s spouse or surviving spouse may also qualify for admittance to the Utah State Veterans Nursing Homes, providing the marriage to the veteran occurred at least one year before the application.
In state-owned veterans homes, the VA pays for nearly one half the cost of care for the resident. In certain instances of service connected disabilities, 100% of the cost of care is paid.
Property Tax Abatement
A Utah permanent place-of-residence property tax exemption equivalent to the military service-connected disability rating percentage is provided for disabled veterans or for their unremarried widows or minor orphans.
Veteran's disability rating must be at least 10%. The maximum property tax exemption is $244,064 in taxable value, based on percentage of disability.
Armed Forces Property Tax Exemption
The state provides a property tax exemption for members of active or reserve components of the U.S. Armed Forces who perform qualifying active-duty military service. For the purposes of this tax exemption, “Qualifying Active Duty Service” is defined as a minimum of 200 days in a calendar year, regardless of whether they were performed consecutively, or 200 consecutive days of active service that may cross over into a second calendar year but has not been applied toward the count for the previous year’s taxes. The amount of the tax exemption is equal to the total taxable value of the claimant’s real property.
Veterans Job Preference
Eligible veterans are granted 5 points and disabled veterans or 10 points, as applicable, for employment preference, added to the results of any written &/or oral exam or other related qualifying technique, by any Utah government entity (state, county, municipality, special district or other political subdivision or administration). Eligible spouses and un-remarried surviving spouses may be entitled to the same percentage.
CDL Driving Skills Test Waiver
The Utah Driver License Division may waive the driving skills tests for veterans applying for a CDL who meet the licensing qualifications, been honorably discharged in the previous 90 days and have operated a CMV during the immediate 2 year period preceding discharge.
Tuition Waiver for Purple Heart Recipients
Purple Heart recipients are eligible for a tuition waiver at all public institution of higher learning in Utah. This benefit can be used toward a degree up to and including a Masters Degree. To receive this benefit the Veteran must submit proof that they are a Purple Heart recipient to the State Institution they are attending.
Scott B Lundell Tuition Waiver for Military Members' Surviving Dependents
Surviving dependants of service members killed in action on or after September 11, 2001 are eligible for a tuition waiver at state schools.
Veterans Tuition Gap Program
The Veterans Tuition Gap Program enables qualifying military veterans to receive tuition assistance for the last school year at State institutions of higher education. It is for tuition only and does not include housing, books, etc.
Fishing License Privileges
Utah Disabled Veterans with 20% or greater disability may be eligible for discounted fishing licenses.
State Park Admission
The Division of Utah State Parks and Recreation offers a free Honor Pass to qualified veterans who are Utah residents and who were honorably discharged, and have a service related disability rating of 50% or greater.
The Honor Pass is valid for day use admittance only to all state parks for the qualified veteran and up to 7 guests in the same private vehicle. These passes are good until the end of the calendar year. At that time, qualified veterans will need to bring their updated documentation to once again receive a pass.
They are not valid at This is the Place Heritage Park and do not cover the fees charged by Davis County for travel on the Antelope Island Causeway. The Honor Pass is also not valid for special fees and charges within state parks including camping fees, golf greens fees, special program fees, etc.
Purple Heart Fee Exemption
Recipients of a Purple Heart is exempt from paying the following motor vehicle license and registration fees: automobile driver education fee; motor vehicle registration fee; license plate issuance fees; uninsured motorist identification fee; and local option transportation corridor preservation fee. The only fee due is property tax or age-based fee.
Utah State Veterans Cemetery & Memorial Park
Located at 17111 Camp Williams Road in Bluffdale. This states veteran's cemetery generally follows the eligibility requirements of VA National Cemetery System, including: any U.S. Armed Forces active personnel dying while performing duty or after having served during wartime. Reservist and National Guard retired personnel with 20 years of service are eligible for burial also. Surviving spouses and dependent children also are eligible to be buried in the Utah State Veterans Cemetery & Memorial Park, under rules established by the state of Utah. Authorized in 1988 by act of the Utah State Legislature, dedication occurred on Memorial Day, 1990. Veterans are not to be buried in any portion of any cemetery or burial ground used for paupers; cities, towns, counties or other political subdivisions of the state of Utah may provide proper sites for burial of veterans.
Visit the Utah Department of Veterans Affairs website for more information on any of these programs.