Paycheck Chronicles

2017 Military Paydays for Active Duty Servicemembers

Don’t forget that you can find all the updated 2017 military pay charts here at Military.com.

I just love that people are planning ahead, and the demand for a list of the 2017 military paydays shows that people are planning.  Yay!  Regular, active duty military pay days are on the 15th of each month (mid-month pay) and the 1st of the following month (end-of-month pay) unless those days fall on a weekend or a holiday.  When that happens, then the payday falls on the business day before the weekend or holiday.  That means a lot of Friday paydays, but it also means that sometimes a month can be broken up pretty unevenly.  This can be tough if you're living paycheck-to-paycheck.

Here are the pay dates for 2017:

Friday, 13 January 2017* (for more information, see 13 January 2017 Military Pay)

Wednesday, 1 February 2017 (for more information, see 1 February 2017 Military Pay)

Wednesday, 15 February 2017 (for more information, see 15 February 2017 Military Pay)

Wednesday, 1 March 2017 (for more information, see 1 March 2017 Military Pay)

Wednesday, 15 March 2017 (for more information, see 15 March 2017 Military Pay)

Friday, 31 March 2017 (for more information, see 31 March 2017 Military Pay)

Friday, 14 April 2017 (for more information, see 14 April 2017 Military Pay)

Monday, 1 May 2017 (for more information, see 1 May 2017 Military Pay)

Monday, 15 May 2017 (for more information, see 15 May 2017 Military Pay)

Thursday, 1 June 2017 (for more information, see 1 June 2017 Military Pay)

Thursday, 15 June 2017 (for more information, see 15 June 2017 Military Pay)

Friday 30 June 2017 (for more information, see 30 June 2017 Military Pay)

Friday, 14 July 2017* (for more information, see 14 July 2017 Military Pay)

Tuesday, 1 August 2017 (for more information, see 1 August 2017 Military Pay)

Tuesday, 15 August 2017 (for more information, see 15 August 2017 Military Pay)

Friday, 1 September 2017 (for more information, see 1 September 2017 Military Pay)

Friday, 15 September 2017 (for more information, see 15 September 2017 Military Pay)

Friday, 29 September 2017 (for more information, see 29 September 2017 Military Pay)

Friday, 13 October 2017* (for more information, see 13 October 2017 Military Pay)

Wednesday, 1 November 2017 (for more information, see 1 November 2017 Military Pay)

Wednesday 15 November 2017

Friday, 1 December 2017

Friday, 15 December 2017

Friday, 29 December 2017

*dates with an asterisk denote that the time before the next pay period is more than 17 days.  Plan ahead to make sure that you don't run out of money.

Obviously, these are the dates for currently serving members who elect to receive their military pay twice a month.  If you only receive your pay once a month, it will be the first of the two dates for each calendar month.

Many military-friendly banks and credit unions offer early direct deposit of military pay as a benefit to their customers.  If you bank with one of these financial institutions, then the day that you get your deposit may be different from the actual military payday.  You’ll need to see my individual bank and credit union listings or check with your bank or credit union for more details about their policies and practices.

Don’t forget that your pay can arrive any time on payday, or on the day that your bank or financial institution does your pay deposit.  Every payday, I hear from service members who are worried that their pay is late.  99% of these situations are resolved with a few hours of patience.

Now, if payday has truly come and gone, and you still don’t see your pay deposit, then there are things that you can do to track down the source of the problem.  See Why Didn’t I Get Paid? for more information.

Calculate your military pay with the latest approved pay rates — download the Military.com Pay App for Android on Google Play or for iPhone on iTunes.

Show Full Article

Related Topics

PayCheck Chronicles

More from Paycheck Chronicles

Fear the Joneses

Don't try to keep up with the Joneses unless you want to ruin your finances. You can do better than they do.
View more

Most Recent Military Pay Articles

View more