Boot Camp Timeline at a Glance

Army soldiers participate in training before deployment
To become a National Guardsman, a recruit must graduate from a 10-week boot camp. (Sgt. 1st Class Russell Klika/U.S. Army)

National Guardsmen go to the same 10-week boot camp as the Army. The following is an overview of what you can expect each week and what it takes to graduate and become a National Guardsman.

Week 0: Reception Week

The reception battalion receives, processes and ships "ready to train" warriors to basic combat training (BCT). Reception helps the warrior work through administrative issues that could lead to a delay in basic training start date, not getting paid properly and a delay in family member medical coverage.

Week 1-3: Red Phase

The red phase is the phase where men and women learn to become soldiers. According to the new soldiers, it's the hardest part. It teaches discipline, honor and integrity. This phase reinforces the Warrior's confidence, spirit of teamwork, personal courage and trust in their fellow warrior.

The drill sergeant serves as coach, trainer and mentor with a strong personal interest in the warrior's successful completion of BCT. It's their mission to train and prepare disciplined, combat-ready warriors.

Weeks 4-6: White Phase

The white phase is more advanced training, teaching the art of living the Army values. There is an emphasis on personal courage and digging deep in order to complete the mission.

Most injuries are a result of warriors not being physically fit. Many injuries can be prevented through an individual PT program. One in four Army National Guard warriors have difficulty meeting the Physical Training (PT) assessment standards. Warriors may be recycled for not meeting PT assessment standards.

Weeks 5-9: Blue Phase

The Blue Phase is comprised of the final field training exercises. It includes military operations in urban terrain (MOUT), convoy live fire, warrior challenge and the return.

Graduation Requirements

  1. Successfully qualify with the M16A2 rifle
  2. Pass hand grenade qualification course and successfully throw two live grenades
  3. Pass the Army Physical Fitness Test (APFT) with a minimum of 50 points in each event (push-ups, sit-ups, two-mile run)
  4. PT standard for AIT is 60 points in all three categories:
  5. Negotiate both the confidence and obstacle courses
  6. Complete combative training to include bayonet, pugil and hand-to-hand combat training
  7. Complete the field training exercise (FTX)
  8. Demonstrate knowledge of the seven Army values (LDRSHIP):
    • Loyalty
    • Duty
    • Respect
    • Selfless Service
    • Honor
    • Integrity
    • Personal Courage

Interested in Joining the Military?

We can put you in touch with recruiters from the different military branches. Learn about the benefits of serving your country, paying for school, military career paths, and more: sign up now and hear from a recruiter near you.

Show Full Article