CGA Announces Latest List of Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees


NEW LONDON -- Coast Guard Academy will add five new members to its Athletic Hall of Fame during its annual Hall of Fame Banquet on Thursday, Sept. 29.

Mark Harris (Class of 1996), Janine (Lavallee) Bowman (1995), Ty Rinoski (1989), Kathy Hamblett (1980) and former head football coach Tom Bell make up the class of 2016.

The induction ceremony and dinner will also be the inaugural event at the new Otto Graham Hall of Athletic Excellence in Billard Hall as part of Homecoming Weekend. Ribbon cutting for the Otto Graham Hall of Excellence will take place at 6:30 p.m. followed by the dinner at 7.

Harris, a member of the New England Basketball Hall of Fame, is the only Coast Guard player with over 1,000 points and 1,000 rebounds. He is the Bears' all-time leading rebounder (1,134) and is fourth all-time with 1,402 points. Harris holds the single-season school record with 22 rebounds. He led the CGA to four consecutive winnings seasons and back-to-back Constitution Athletic Conference (CAC) championships and ECAC tournament berths in the 1993-94 and 1994-95 seasons.

Bowman was a member of the 1998 United States shooting team and the 2000 U.S. Olympic team. She was a four-time pistol national champion at Coast Guard and was also the first woman to medal in a co-ed collegiate event.

Rinoski, an East Lyme High School graduate, was the quarterback of the 1988 football team, the only team in program history to win a postseason game as the Bears beat Plymouth State 28-19 to win the ECAC North Championship. Coast Guard won win its final eight games to finish 9-1, a single-season record for wins (along with the 1997 team). He was a first team ECAC All-Star in 1987 and a second team selection in 1988, leading the Bears to a 15-3 record during his final two seasons.

Bell was the head coach of that 1988 team and had a career record of 35-28 in his seven seasons at the Academy (1986-1992). He has the second best winning percentage (.556) of any football coach at Coast Guard and had four winning seasons.

Hamblett, a pioneer for women's athletics at Coast Guard, assisted in starting the women's rowing program. She was a two-year captain and was the coxswain of the 1977 men's lightweight unbeaten four.

"Once again, we are fortunate to have a truly outstanding Hall of Fame class in 2016," athletic director Tim Fitzpatrick said in a statement released by the Academy. "Each new inductee brings an amazing list of accomplishments with them, and it will be a unique pleasure to honor them on the same night that we will officially dedicate the Otto Graham Hall of Athletic Excellence."

Related Video:

Show Full Article