Coast Guard Places 21 on NEFC All-Academic Team


NEW LONDON — Coast Guard Academy placed 21 players on the New England Football Conference All-Academic team, which was announced on Wednesday.

The Bears had just eight players named to the team last season and 11 in 2013 and 2014.

The sophomore class led the way with nine players making the team while the senior class added eight more to the All-Academic team.

"Congratulations to our football cadet-athletes who have been recognized by the NEFC for their outstanding academic achievements," Coast Guard athletic director Tim Fitzpatrick said in a statement released by athletic department. "We are very proud of them and thank them for their relentless pursuit of excellence both in the classroom and on the gridiron.

"This accomplishment speaks volumes about the strong emphasis on academic, military and athletic success that Coach (Bill) George and his staff stress so consistently to our players."

Seniors Paul Puddington (LB, Civil Engineering), Eli Maurer (DB, Operations Research and Computer Analysis) and Ross Markham (OL, Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering) were each named to the team or the third consecutive season.

Senior linebacker Charles Chavtur (Operations Research and Computer Analysis) earned All-Academic honors for the second straight season while seniors Blake Bonifas (Government), Mike Clancy (Management), Kevin Painten (Government) and James Rizzo (Government) were honored for the first time.

Junior offensive lineman J.D. Dunaway (Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering) and Kyle Levy (Mechanical Engineering) along with defensive lineman Brendan McNeil (Management) all earned honors for the second straight season while classmate Ben Strong (Operations Research/Computer Analysis), an offensive lineman earned honors for the first time.

Tight End Cody Bain (Electrical Engineering), quarterback Adam Davis (Naval Architecture/Marine Engineering), defensive linemen Vince DeTerlizzi (Mechanical Engineering) and Logan Sullivan (Mechanical Engineering), wide receiver Jackson Morton (Marine and Environmental Sciences), defensive backs Matt O'Donnell (Mechanical Engineering), Ryan Robertson (Mechanical Engineering) and Oliver Kremer (Civil Engineering) and offensive lineman Gabe Zogby (Naval Architecture/Marine Engineering) all earned All-Academic honors in their first year of eligibility as sophomores.

To earn a spot on the NEFC All-Academic team, a player must have completed three semesters at the same institution with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better on a 4.0 scale.

Show Full Article

Related Topics